Home » Writing » Guest Author: Gordon Bonnet

Guest Author: Gordon Bonnet

Meet this week’s featured author, Gordon Bonnet!

  

KILL SWITCH – The FBI tells Chris Franzia about five recent murders, and the only link is that the victims were all in the same college class thirty years earlier.  And he’s next.

What are you working on now?:
A novel that follows Stephen King’s dictum of making your reader care about the characters, and then releasing the monsters.

Favorite quote:
“The difference between reality and fiction is that fiction has to be believable.”  – Mark Twain

Who is the author/artist that inspires you the most, and why?
I’m going to cheat, and pick two.  Neil Gaiman, for his lyrical writing and his ability to create completely believable alternate worlds, and Haruki Murakami for his ability to do the opposite — to take the real world and inject it with the surreal.

If stranded on an island, what one book would you keep with you?
I think it would have to be Umberto Eco’s “Foucault’s Pendulum.”  It is the single book that best embodies my feeling about the world — and despite having read it several times, every time I go back to it, I find something new.

What are you reading right now?
“Isaac’s Storm,” by Erik Larson.  The story of the 1900 Galveston hurricane, the deadliest natural disaster ever to strike the United States.  I love weather.  If I hadn’t become a science teacher, I’d have been a tornado chaser.

Reveal one thing about yourself that few people know:
Despite being a high school teacher and a performing musician, I am extremely shy.  It’s very hard for me to be the center of any kind of attention, and I once suffered from paralyzing stage fright.  (Better now, fortunately.)  I’m able to do my job, and perform with my band, only by doing a great deal of psyching myself out every day, and convincing myself that my students and the people in the audience (respectively) aren’t going to eat me alive.

Describe your ideal work space…and then tell us about your actual one:

I need space, and peace and quiet.  My ideal writing space would be a small room in the corner of the house, with quirky decorations and no distractions.  I was able to turn my son’s old bedroom into an office that meets virtually all of these requirements except the “no distractions” one — because it’s next to the back door.  So I spend a lot of my time letting my two dogs in and out.
What advice do you have for other writers/artists?
The best way to become better at writing is to read daily and write daily.  Read to charge up your creative mind; write to release the creativity onto the page.  Don’t let negative thoughts like “I don’t write well” stop you.  If you keep writing, and solicit suggestions about how to improve from people you trust  (and, importantly – take those suggestions!), you WILL get better.

Where can readers find you online?

My fiction blog is at gbfiction.blogspot.com.  I also write daily on a blog devoted to science, skepticism, and critical thinking, at skeptophilia.blogspot.com.  My Twitter feed is at @TalesOfWhoa, and my Amazon author page is at:

http://www.amazon.com/Gordon-Bonnet/e/B005LDDJXG

And my author page on Facebook is:

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Gordon-Bonnet-author/228439720509691

Check out any/all!

Talk amongst yourselves...

