Home » Writing » Guest Author: Peggy Chambers

Guest Author: Peggy Chambers

This week, meet the fantastic Peggy Chambers!

  

Glome’s Valley – a pre-teen book set in southeast Oklahoma at the Heavener Runestone. It is a boring summer until Ethan finds new friends in a Viking ghost, fairies, Thor, and smelly trolls.

What are you working on now?: I’m working on a New Adult novel currently called Blooming Justice. It is a suspense novel involving a young girl working in a law firm while she goes to college. She is forced to grow up very quickly. I have also been tasked by Airship 27 to write a werewolf short story for an anthology they are publishing. It is a money making project and all proceeds go to publisher/author Tommy Hancock who has incurred some medical costs due to an untimely illness. I seem unable to settle on a genre. I write pulp fiction, YA/NA and romance suspense (at least for now!).

Favorite quote: “All that we are is a result of what we have thought.” Buddha

Who is the author/artist that inspires you the most, and why? I love the classics. I am especially fond of Hemingway and Steinbeck. Both were American authors who could spin a tale making it impossible to put the book down. I want my books to be that spellbinding.

If stranded on an island, what one book would you keep with you?  I would probably need a survival book. But also, being a Hemingway fan, I love Islands in the Stream. I can only have one? Who made up these rules!

What are you reading right now? Owl Dreams by John T. Biggs. Love his writing!

Reveal one thing about yourself that few people know:  I’ve said this before so more people know it now than used to; I ate Wart Hog pizza in Zimbabwe on a hunting safari with my husband in 2000. It tasted like pork.

Describe your ideal work space…and then tell us about your actual one:  A friend of mine purchased on of those ergonomic desks that she can sit at and then push a button and it raises so she can stand while she writes. That would be great, especially if it was in a cabana with an ocean breeze blowing in. But at the moment I use the guest bedroom and my late father-in-law’s recliner with the laptop. That way I can get away from the noise of the TV in the living room.

What advice do you have for other writers/artists?  Write what you love. I know I should say make a platform, know your readership, and stick with a genre. That way you become known for one thing.  I’ve done all that, but I’m like the dog in the movie Up. Squirrel! Oh, I thought of something else! I love to write so many things I am easily distracted. After all this is a labor of love for me as it is for most writers. Your reader will know if your whole heart isn’t in your work. Write for them, but mostly write for you.

Where can readers find you online?

You can connect with me on my author page on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/BraWars, follow my website at http://peggylchambers.com/, Pinterest at https://www.pinterest.com/chamberspeggy/, or on Twitter at https://twitter.com/ChambersPeggy.

Talk amongst yourselves...

