Home » Writing » Suddenly Single – Homeschooling On Your Own

Suddenly Single – Homeschooling On Your Own

I recently found myself in a class by myself. I am the only home educator I personally know who is also a single parent. Homeschooling is generally a team effort, with one parent bearing the burden of generating income, while the other parent handles teaching the children. Suddenly, I am both. Suddenly, I am single.

Maybe one day I’ll write about the shock and pain and misery of helping two children (and myself) recover from the ending of a 20-year marriage, but it won’t be for a while. It is still too raw, still too reeking of a Jerry Springer episode to share with the world just yet. And there are many articles and forums out there for the single parent, a handful for the single parent homeschool family. But the lessons I’ve learned in the past few months can be distilled to the following:

  • Give all the pieces of your broken heart to the task at hand. Don’t waste a single moment despairing about the past. Those are moments you could be spending with your children.
  • Refuse to be a victim. Divorce creates drama, and as Skeet Savage says, at the very least you’ve had a supporting role in the soap opera. Be ready to experience a new chapter in life.
  • Get thee to a support group. Whether it’s a community center, your local homeschool co-op, or Friday lunch with the girls, find and maintain excellent friendships. Refuse to give yourself to anyone who is less than spectacular in the friendship category.
  • Stay focused. Don’t distract yourself by looking for a new partner. As HAPPINESS AT HOME author Gretchen Rubin says, “The days are long, but the years are short.” The years left educating your child are very short indeed.
  • Rethink your priorities. Adjust your expectations. There are gifts waiting to be opened if you will only stop looking in the wrong direction.
  • Keep one eye on the calendar and the other on your health. Time and energy level management is key to your success. Be vigilant in taking care of your health and keeping to a schedule.
  • Stop thinking “What If…” and start thinking “What Will I Regret?” (Then go out and do those things with your kids that you don’t want to regret when they’ve grown.)
  • Think creatively. Work from home or at odd hours to accommodate the needs of your homeschool schedule. Accept help from family and friends. Bargain, barter, sell unnecessary items, split costs…whatever it takes to save money and gain more time with your kids.
  • Don’t worry about what you can’t do. Multi-task where possible, but be realistic about what you can do in a day, week, month, or year.

“Do what you can, with what you have, where you are.”

-Theodore Roosevelt

  • Realize that you have more control over your life than you think you do. You’re in charge here. You cannot afford to let other people take advantage of you or your children. Being assertive (especially for women) is vital to your success. People can hate you later. Right now you need results.

I’d be honored to hear your thoughts and experiences. Please leave me a comment!

And to the many friends and family who have become my support group, I thank you. You make everything better.

3 thoughts on “Suddenly Single – Homeschooling On Your Own

  1. I was homeschooled through middle-school, but both of my parents worked full-time. The way they got around it was to write out the day’s assignments before leaving for work in the morning. It was up to me to get the assignments done. If I got them done quickly (and with the grades that were expected of me), then I had the rest of the day to do whatever I wanted. If I dawdled, then school could last until well after dinner.

    I don’t know how old your children are, or if you feel comfortable letting them take the reins, but it is the only thought I have to offer.

    I agree with Scarlet Rose – you are brave. You can do this. Let us know if you need any help.

    • Karen, you’ve nailed several points beautifully, and given us a pathway towards healing. My only addition (as what I like to call a “civilly divorced-homeschool-solo-parent”) is that everyting good (like staying focused and thinking creatively) comes in spurts, and depends on the feelings of the moment, at least for me, at least in the first few years. Yes, years! I scrambled to homeschool two teens through high school WHILE losing my house, my husband, my dog, and WHILE getting my B.A. and trying to work a few hours here or there. Healing came in spurts. I’m still in recovery. But I have finally begun to feel happiness, and joy, even! I remember standing at my kitchen window, crying while doing dishes, in the first few months of our separation. I would pray, “God, I just want to be happy again!” It took awhile, but I am getting happier! I wish that I could have spent more time with each one, but those old days of being at home at the kitchen table had to yield to more pressing matters. We did what we could. And the result? I graduated both of my teenagers from high school. Finally!

Talk amongst yourselves...

