Home » Writing » Friday Flash Fiction » Friday Flash Fiction – “Cry Wolf”

Friday Flash Fiction – “Cry Wolf”

Wolf

Wolf (Photo credit: Buridans Esel)

 

The first time it happened, he screamed.  The others came running, but they didn’t see it.  Twice, three times, the shape was there, ready to ravage them all. 

Later, the reproaches. 

A turning of the back. 

A running out of town. 

The years had ground on, one village to another, but he would never take another flock.  

Sometimes in dreams, others waking visions, but always coming true.  They had called him many things, but now, in his rags and vacant doorways, he would always be “The Boy Who Cried”.

Friday Fictioneers is the brain child of Madison Woods, and you can keep up with the gang on FaceBook or Twitter (#FridayFictioneers).  Our goal is to write 100 word stories based on a photo prompt each Friday.  In addition, here’s a bit of Flash Fiction insight I found in my travels…

I came across this little gem in an interview I read earlier this week, and just had to share it with you:

 

Kirsty Logan “is a fiction writer, journalist, literary magazine editor, teacher, book reviewer, arts intern, and general layabout. She is currently working on a novel, “Rust and Stardust”, and a short story collection, “The Rental Heart and Other Fairytales”, and she also is the editor of flash fiction magazine Fractured West.  You can read the full interview here, but the part most exciting to flash fiction writers is below (italics mine)…

 

I have spent years trying to develop a writing schedule, but it never quite works out. My only rule is that I always write 100 words a day, no matter what. Even on the craziest, most hectic day, there is always time to take ten minutes and jump into my story. I often write my 100 words on my phone and email it to myself to be added to my work-in-progress. I’m always thinking about my current story, daydreaming about the characters and locations, trying to pick holes in the plot to make sure it’s sturdy. When it’s time to write I don’t need time to ‘get into it’, as I’m already there. I do write a lot, but it’s nothing compared to the time I spend daydreaming!

 

Now that’s using flash fiction at a whole other level!  Be sure to leave your link/comment below, and let me know how you can incorporate 100 words a day!

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Friday Flash Fiction – “Cry Wolf”

  1. Pingback: Taking a Step Back « Claudsy's Blog

  2. Pingback: Kitchen: Flash Fiction–Casting Your Lot: Part 1 | Two Voices, One Song

  3. Dear Karen,

    This was a wonderful, dark and perfectly realized take on your prompt. You have always been a writer that I pay attention to and this story and your crafting of it illustrates why.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  4. Pingback: Friday Flash Fiction – “I Thee Wed” | Karen B. Nelson

  5. Pingback: Friday Flash Fiction – “Along Came a Spider” | Karen B. Nelson

Talk amongst yourselves...

