Home » Fiberista Fun » The “Dog Days” of Creativity

The “Dog Days” of Creativity

Every August, just when we think it can’t get anymore miserable in Missouri, the dog days arrive.  Picture a panting canine, tongue lolling, body sprawled across the only cool patch of concrete he can find (under your feet on the front porch), and you have a fairly accurate idea of what the dog days of summer inspire.  Nobody wants to move.  The brain cells slow down until all they can track are half-hearted buzzing of the flies.  Every breath is laboriously pumped like a rusty bellows.  And that’s just by 7am.

I’ve noticed that creativity gets its own “dog days”, although they can strike at any time of the year.  Remember Milo in the Phantom Tollbooth?  His little car rolled along until he entered the Doldrums, where the wheels ground to a stop, and he soon lacked the motivation to even care about getting back on the road.  Creative slumps are like that.

They can occur for writers, artists, musicians, crafters, designers … anybody who depends on their own perpetual motion to keep them working at their passion.  I recently hit a dry spell in my knitting.  That may not sound like a big deal (at least to non-knitters), but trust me, it’s a crisis for those of us who have to have some sticks and string in our hands at all times!

I went through my stash.  Nothing there worth looking at.  Those bins are full, but utterly uninspiring.  I organized my patterns.  Boring.  Too hard.  Too easy.  Not my style.  In desperation, I went straight to my local yarn store, Yarn Diva, and asked if there was some kind of 12-step program I had missed signing up for.  Turns out, all I needed was some sparkly yarn with a mindless pattern and a high instant gratification factor.  It helped that it was totally not my color or style, so I could contemplate how inappropriate it was all the time I was knitting it.

It worked!  I got the jump-start I needed to get excited again about something I love to do.  I shot those dog days in their hindquarters and they’re still yelping as they run for the hills.  So, if you feel an attack of the doldrums, and your creative wheels are grinding down, do not succomb.  Shop for new supplies, attend a workshop, join an online group, or just find a friend to confide in.  Stretch yourself, learn a new skill, teach an old one – that spark is just waiting to be rekindled into a roaring fire of productivity.  Remember, the dog days don’t last long, and Indian Summer is just around the corner!

4 thoughts on “The “Dog Days” of Creativity

  1. I’m way way too busy to do it but yesterday I wanted so very badly to dig out my old crewel kits and do embroidery! There’s just something about this time of year, isn’t there? Oh, yeah, it gets you out of doing the things you SHOULD be doing also! Well, I’ve not given in yet but you just never know . . . i’m not too sure just where they were put the last time . . . the top of the closet? Beneath the Christmas ornaments? Tucked into the bottom drawer of my file cabinet? Hmmmmmm.

  2. Now that just sounds like a reason to go out and buy all new supplies, to me! I definitely think the beginnings of Fall make us want to get our hands on some fiber and create something! I’d love to see some of your work sometime. I told Brenda at OWL that she should bring some of her handmade rugs to show off (under her books, of course). We could start a whole a sub-group of crafters-within-writers!

  3. Now I understand what the dog days of summer really are (at least in the area of creativity ) but now I need help with Indian Summer, when does it arrive, if is isn’t fall, then why call it summer? Next article please——jp

  4. Pingback: September Reminisce « Karen B. Nelson

Talk amongst yourselves...

