30 Books – 30 Days

Bibliophiles love to talk about books, and what could be better than considering a different book for each day of the month!  Here are my personal picks…

     Day 1: Favorite Book:  The Importance of Being EarnestOscar Wilde’s wit never fails to lift my spirits and sharpen my mind.

 

  Day 2: Least Favorite Book:   Moby Dick- Herman Melville needed an honest friend to tell him to get a life…away from whales.

 

   Day 3: Book that makes you laugh out loud: Hamish MacBeth – M.C. Beaton’s 3rd in the series is a macabre chuckle from beginning to end.  One thought to take with you…death by lobster tank.

   Day 4: Book that makes you cry: The Lovely Bones - this story was so real it scared me.

 

   Day 5: Book you wish you could live in: Betsy-Tacy Series - These were my dearest friends as a child, and I loved their early 1900′s world.

 

    Day 6: Favorite young adult book: I don’t care what your personal opinion of Mr. Potter is, these book single-handedly got millions of kids reading – and that is something to celebrate.

 

   Day 7: Book that you can quote/recite: The Bible – The only book you ever really need – history, life lessons, wisdom, proverbs, and prophecy.

 

    Day 8: Book that scares you: The Handmaid’s Tale – A horrifying possibility

 

    Day 9: Book that makes you sick: Diary of Anne Frank – History I wish wasn’t real.

 

   Day 10: Book that changed your life: The Poisonwood Bible - Barbara Kingsolver‘s incredible novel got inside my core and changed the way I thought about how we are shaped by our pasts.

 

    Day 11: Book from your favorite author: Agatha Christie - anything she wrote is a joy to rediscover


    Day 12: Book that is most like your life: The Little House Books – the Midwest was still like this era for decades longer than other places, and we moved around as much as the Ingalls family did.

    Day 13: Book whose main character is most like you: Anne of Green Gables - Anne Shirley kept thinking something wonderful was just around the corner, and made the best of the present.  If I only had her amazing red hair…

 

    Day 14: Book whose main character you want to marry: Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus – I don’t have a character I would marry, but I think I’m already married to this spunky little bird that tries to get away with everything!

 

   Day 15: First “chapter book” you can remember reading as a child:  Jerry Goes Riding – I can’t remember if this was a chapter book, but it’s the earliest I can remember reading on my own – I think it was my older siblings’.

 

   Day 16: Longest book you’ve read: Gone With the Wind - may not be the longest I’ve read (remember the hateful Moby Dick?), but I’ve read it enough times to count as the longest.

 

    Day 17: Shortest book you’ve read: Shel Silverstein’s “The Giving Tree” – short, sweet, and timeless

 

 


    Day 18: Book you’re most embarrassed to say you like: Barbara Cartland’s Romances – I used to devour these as a teenager – my one and only foray into romance books.


    Day 19: Book that made you think:   The Alvin Maker Series- I wish more people were aware of this brilliant historical sci-fi series!  It’s amazing!

   Day 20: Book you’ve read the most number of times: The Hobbit - J.R.R. Tolkien’s prequel to the Lord of the Rings series is probably my most-read book, aside from the trilogy itself.


    Day 21: Favorite picture book from childhood: Grimm’s Fairy Tales – I can’t remember having an actual picture book as a child, but we had a hardback copy of these stories that weren’t watered down for children, and were gorgeously illustrated.  I absorbed the art long before I could read along.

 

   Day 22: Book you plan to read next: Your Erroneous Zones – thanks Leann, you found another book to tell me what’s wrong with myself!

 

   Day 23: Book you tell people you’ve read, but haven’t (or haven’t actually finished): Les Miserables - I just didn’t feel the need to finish it, once I saw the Broadway production.

 

   Day 24: Book that contains your favorite scene: The Time Traveler’s Wife – full of favorite scenes – each chapter was a new surprise

 

   Day 25: Favorite book you read in school: Nancy Drew – I never got tired of these classic mysteries

 

 

   Day 26: Favorite nonfiction book: If You Want to Write – Brenda Ueland’s book is a never-ending source of inspiration and affirmation.

 

 

   Day 27: Favorite fiction book:   Alias Grace - Haunting, mystifying, and unforgettable

 

 

   Day 28: Last book you read: American Gods - I loved Neil Gaiman’s writing for TV, so I tried this modern classic.  I loved the story, but it’s a bit racy for recommendation.

 

 

   Day 29: Book you’re currently reading: Crystal Brave – B.K. Bradshaw’s young adult story of an earthquake at the Taum Sauk is a fast-moving read, and the basis for new writing projects for me!

 

 

Day 30: Book you want everyone to read, but can’t explain: Ender’s Game - everyone should read this book, but it is impossible to tell people what it is about without giving it all away!

 

Well, that’s my 30 books in 30 days – what are yours?  Leave a comment and link to your own list so we can get more great ideas for books to read!

4 thoughts on “30 Books – 30 Days

  1. Awe… you really are Anne. :) I love her… I have all the books but I’ve never read them. I guess I am too in love with Gilbert Blythe on the tv screen to both with words.

    I am starting on a teen girl horse story of my own.. taking a break from the crabbery of lording over the land for a bit. I need to read Crystal Brave! I have in mind to go check out some horse books this weekend so I can refresh my memory.

  2. Lots of great ones there! That would be a hard list to populate…I have too many books that fill a lot of those categories. And yes, hooray for Harry Potter! More children reading is ALWAYS a wonderful thing!

Talk amongst yourselves...

